Anathema!
Anathema!

Yikes!

News: Posted August 27th, 2018 by Alina

^ 9 Comments to “Anathema!”

  1. Robin Bobcat Says:

    Never interrupt a good villian monologue. They’ll almost always give you the information necessary to thwart their plans (in this case the gem).

    The BASH superhero RPG actually has specific rules that if you interrupt a monologue, the villian gets a bonus to their HP.

    Posted August 28th, 2018 at 3:13 am
  2. darkwingdave Says:

    Gee, right up there with “Is that the Best you can do?”

    Posted August 28th, 2018 at 4:10 am
  3. Scar Man!!! Says:

    Gosh, I hope our eventual showdown against the fallen angel queen of the Fae will be as epic as this. Given that we just had a battle against orc pirates where my gnome barbarian (power attack makes up for reduced weapon damage quite nicely) successfully pulled off an Errol Flynn move with a small piece of rope, the pirates’ own grappling line and my trusty light shield, I have high hopes for it. My DM still makes noob mistakes though, like still rolling for damage to sails even after the rules declared them unusable and he had confirmed the fire wouldn’t spread to the rest of the ship. Also, still not sure how the fallen angel had ready enough access to celestial plate to hand it out to some noble pawn, even though that battle was still epic.

    Oh, and I’m about to reach level five, so I have a question. We’re playing 3.5 and my signature weapon (and the entire reason I made this specific character) is the gnomish hooked hammer, a double weapon. Given that you can make a penalized second attack at level 5, does this mean I can make a second attack with both ends, thus letting me attempt four total attacks, or only a third attack after I’ve used both ends normally? DM is currently ruling the latter, but he’s amenable to argument, my character is not exactly OP even with four attacks per turn (because gnome and two-weapon penalties) and all we have is the SRD.

    Posted August 28th, 2018 at 8:34 am
  4. Scar Man!!! Says:

    addendum to what I said before. Realized I don’t get a bonus attack till level 6, not level 5. My mistake

    Posted August 28th, 2018 at 9:13 am
  5. Dominic Says:

    Let’s hope someone’s got another use of Turn Undead available.

    Posted August 28th, 2018 at 10:58 am
  6. Chakat Firepaw Says:

    No, no, no.

    You don’t say, in character, “let’s fight already.”
    You say, player to GM, “I make a leaping attack at her.”

    Posted August 28th, 2018 at 12:49 pm
  7. noerartnoe Says:

    Scar Man!!!: A double weapon is basically Two-Weapon Fighting. In other words: you get one(1) extra attack in addition to the ones granted by your BAB (if doing a Full Round Attack. A Standard Action Attack attack is just one hit, period). But if you do attack with the other end, you take TWF penalties to all attacks as if the other end was a light weapon. You choose which end you’re using as your mainhand weapon on a round-by-round basis and use that end for your BAB-granted attacks. Then use the other end for your off-hand. (unless you’re houseruling something)

    Most people play TWF feats as applying to Double weapons as well. So you could get extra offhand attacks that way. Although it could be argued by a *strict* interpretation of RAW that it shouldn’t.

    Also: you mentioned a Light Shield, so just in case: Technically (again, barring any rulings otherwise by your DM) you can’t use that and a Two-handed (or offhand) weapon at the same time. And if you hold the Gnomish Hooked Hammer in one hand, you can’t use it as a Double Weapon. This is RAW though. Keep in mind that RAW should never get in the way of a fun game and everyone houserules the shit out of this game anyways.

    Posted August 28th, 2018 at 7:59 pm
  8. Bruceski Says:

    “So what you’re saying is that the scary snake-thing is all the way over THERE and not HERE.”

    Posted August 28th, 2018 at 11:42 pm
  9. Scar Man!!! Says:

    Noerartnoe: I did mention that. Rest assured I’m not trying to triple-wield. My alternate weapon set for really serious fights where I need all the AC I can get is a light steel shield and a morningstar. I also got a greatsword recently, but only used it once.

    Posted August 29th, 2018 at 9:36 am